icelava.net

why be normal?
Welcome to icelava.net Sign in | Help
in Search

Pre-release is for the masochist

Last post 12-18-2007, 3:41 by icelava. 0 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  12-18-2007, 3:41 2117

Pre-release is for the masochist

Dealing with software, real actual released, gone into production, gone live, working software, is a serious pain. Both as a user as well as a developer, I experience both sides of the coin and most certainly understand and empathise either. I know of the unsurmountable challenge of delivering software that works robustly within unreasonable contraints of manpower and time. But at the same time, I know the sheer frustration when software behaves so stupidly that we can literally be thankful that destruction of computing equipment is not considered the same as homicide under the eyes of the law.

And therefore, dealing with software that is not fit for release, yet, is plain begging for bondage and torture.

*timidly raises hand* yup, I am probably one of them.

So here I am, once again trying to exercise a little initiative and getting ahead to try out Team Foundation Server 2008 on Windows Server 2008 (RC) and SQL Server 2008 (Nov 07 CTP). The first time I installed SQL Server, I forgot TFS makes use of Analysis Services (AS) and did not include that. When the TFS installation analyzer reported that, I promptly loaded up the SQL Server media again only to be greeted with a rather unexpected slap that this version's setup program does not include functionality to adjust an existing instance. It can only install new instances, and I can only use the command line to modify the existing installation. How to? Check Books Online it says. If only that set of documentation is easily found in BOL.....

Uninstall Reporting Services? Not allowed!